Skip to main content

Excellence All Around: DELTA Awards Roundup 2023-2024

NC State DELTA ball caps on a table

Another academic year has ended, and with it comes another year of accolades and recognition for the people and programs that make NC State an outstanding place to learn, teach and work. 

As always, DELTA staff were well-represented within our unit, across the NC State campus and at the national level. Learn more about the many accolades DELTA’s people have received — so far! — this year. 

Pride of the Wolfpack & Cheers for Peers

In a much-anticipated annual tradition, the DELTA Pride of the Wolfpack Awards were presented by Vice Provost Donna Petherbridge at the May 30 all-DELTA cookout in Pullen Park. Six DELTA staff members were recognized for their outstanding contributions to DELTA that embody the university’s mission and values. 

Additional “Cheers for Peers” at the cookout included the DELTA Activities Committee (DAC) “Certificates of Fun.” Several DELTA employees were also recognized for their years of service, spanning 5 to 30 years. 

A group of four people pose outdoors following an awards ceremony.
Pride of the Wolfpack award winners, from left, Ben Huckaby, Tèa Blumer (in foreground) and James Perry with Vice Provost Donna Petherbridge at the DELTA cookout, May 30, 2024. Not pictured: Jessica Lama, Helen Velk and Cortney Hagans. Photo: Katie Gluf.

DELTA LearnTech Support Team Recognized for Operational Excellence

DELTA’s Learning Technology (LearnTech) Support team was recognized earlier this year for outstanding contributions to campus operations with the NC State IT Community Team Award for Operational Excellence. The award recognizes an IT service team that demonstrates an exceptional commitment to client support, accountability and collaboration across campus units. 

LearnTech team members assist faculty and staff across the university with incorporating instructional technologies into their courses and programs. 

A group of six smiling people standing in front of a screen and holding award certificates
LearnTech’s IT Support team, from left: Ethan Walgran, Bethany Smith, Grace Hatterschide, Sarah Weatherman, Q Peiffer and Mike Whitman.

Caitlin McKeown Recognized With Provost’s Award For Accessibility Efforts

DELTA Lead Instructional Designer for Digital Learning Caitlin McKeown was honored with a 2024 Provost’s Unit Award for Excellence in customer service this spring. McKeown was one of five staff members from across the university recognized with the award. McKeown was recognized for her exceptional leadership in fostering a culture of inclusion at NC State through accessible course design. 

As the principal course accessibility expert for DELTA, McKeown focuses her work primarily on courses delivered virtually or in a hybrid format. Partnering with instructors to evaluate course content, assessment approaches and course communications through the lens of Universal Design, she ensures that inclusive educational experiences are available to NC State students.

Caitlin McKeown, left, with Vice Provost Donna Petherbridge at the University Awards for Excellence ceremony on June 4, 2024.