Skip to main content

DELTA Celebrates 2024 Pride of the Wolfpack Awards

A group of four people pose outdoors following an awards ceremony.
Pride of the Wolfpack award winners, from left, Ben Huckaby, Tèa Blumer (in foreground) and James Perry with Vice Provost Donna Petherbridge at the DELTA cookout, May 30, 2024. Not pictured: Jessica Lama, Helen Velk and Cortney Hagans. Photo: Katie Gluf.

In a much-anticipated annual tradition, the DELTA Pride of the Wolfpack Awards were presented by Vice Provost Donna Petherbridge at the May 30 all-DELTA cookout in Pullen Park. Six DELTA staff members were recognized for their outstanding contributions to DELTA that embody the university’s mission and values. 

2024 Award Recipients

Congratulations to this year’s award recipients, listed alphabetically with excerpts from their nominations:

Tèa Blumer, Multimedia Specialist, Digital Learning

Tèa consistently engages in thought-provoking discussions, asking insightful questions that contribute to better framing of challenges and generating effective solutions. Her collaborative efforts with MarComm on numerous projects highlight her ability to work seamlessly with different teams. Furthermore, Tèa has emerged as a strong advocate for fostering a sense of fun and community within our team. 

Cortney Hagans, Human Resources Specialist, Finance and Business 

Cortney shined brilliantly during her interview in August 2021 and she has been shining ever since! She has received recognition from peers about her patience, grace, efficiency, clarity and communication. Further, she views uncertainty as a way of learning and growing, and does not shy away from new experiences. Someone like Cortney is invaluable to our organization.

Benjamin Huckaby, Lead Interaction Designer, Digital Learning

Ben consistently exhibits a sense of responsibility and professionalism within the team. In addition to fostering stability, he actively contributes to creating opportunities for the team to come together, exchange ideas, and develop both professionally and personally. Ben’s commitment to team interaction and development distinguishes him as an exceptional team member deserving of this recognition.

Jessica Lama, University Program Specialist, Online and Distance Education

Since Jessica’s first day, she has embodied the university’s values and has been a tremendous asset to our team and the NC State community. She goes above and beyond to provide exemplary customer service, treating everyone with kindness and responding to inquiries quickly. Jessica also steps up to serve and proactively takes on additional projects.

James Perry, Executive Assistant to the Vice Provost

James is an extremely hard working and a very productive employee. He works across teams in DELTA on a multitude of projects with many different personalities across the organization, remaining patient with every person, no matter the issue or request. He has been an amazing contributor and has been able to quickly get up to speed and make himself an integral (and proactive) member of the team. 

Helen Velk, Communications Specialist, Marketing and Communications

Helen’s title as “communications specialist” suits her role as she is an excellent communicator, friendly and quick to respond to the needs of others. She continues to find ways to communicate, lead and demonstrate flexibility through significant and ongoing changes. There’s a friendly confidence in how she works with stakeholders who are not as familiar with her area of expertise.

Three people posing outdoors with award certificates
Tèa Blumer, Ben Huckaby and James Perry at the all-DELTA cookout at Pullen Park, May 30, 2024. Photo: Katie Gluf.

The Pride of the Wolfpack award is open to all SHRA and EHRA employees, and any NC State staff, faculty member or student may submit a nomination. Recipients received a framed certificate and mug courtesy of NC State Bookstores. In addition, their names are added to an engraved plaque in DELTA’s main office in the Center for Technology and Innovation building.

Past DELTA Pride of the Wolfpack Awardees:

Additional Cheers for Peers

The DELTA Activity Committee (DAC) awarded two “Certificates of Fun” this year in recognition of their commitment to facilitating engaging employee interactions that build community: 

  • Outgoing DAC chair Jenn Scoggins, Program Coordinator for Digital Learning, was recognized for her leadership in organizing engaging and innovative events and activities for DELTA. Jenn has been a member of DAC since she started at DELTA and served as chair for 5 years. Her unwavering commitment to providing fun, inclusive, and innovative events for the office through DAC has been greatly appreciated. 
  • Systems Programmer for Academic Technology Bill Hicks was honored with a lifetime achievement award for his years of committed service as Dupid (DELTA’s Cupid). Bill hung up his wings this year after many years of handing out calories and cavities every Valentine’s Day.  
Dupid (Bill Hicks) does the rounds on Valentine’s Day 2024, pictured here with Vice Provost Donna Petherbridge. Photo: Katie Gluf.

Additionally, Vice Provost Donna Petherbridge was nominated for a 2024 NC State University Equity Award for Women in recognition of her outstanding dedication to establishing equity for women at NC State. Donna was recognized at the at the Office for Institutional Equity and Diversity Women’s Center Sisterhood Dinner.

Service Awards

DELTA would also like to recognize the following service award recipients, and thank them for their commitment to advancing the mission of NC State:

  • 30 Years: Tony Pearson
  • 25 Years: Jeffrey Williford
  • 20 Years: Timothy Hinds, Bethany Smith, Michael Whitman
  • 15 Years: Jonathan Champ, Shawn Colvin, Andrew Davidson, John Gordon, Arlene Mendoza-Moran, Alan Surrette, David Tredwell
  • 10 Years: Kerri Brown Parker, Todd Buker, Daniel Davis, Alexis Lockett, Kara Marschalk, Tamara Watts, Sarah Weatherman
  • 5 Years: Alexander Bennett, Anne-Marie Chagachbanian